The Continuing Saga of the Insensitive Friend

Insensitive friend strikes again!
IF: Hey, whatchadoin?
Me: Oh, you know, puttering around the house.
IF: I am so bored! I don’t know how you do it!
Me: Well…
IF: I mean, how can you stay at home day in and day out, attending to your children’s and husband’s needs? Don’t you get bored? I am so glad my maternity leave ends in a few weeks. But you! You’re stuck there for the long haul.
Me: You see, (formulating a snappy comeback)
IF: Well, gotta go, the baby needs to be fed.
Me: (reluctantly)Bye.

Published in: on April 28, 2008 at 10:42 am  Comments (22)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://greymom.wordpress.com/2008/04/28/the-continuing-saga-of-the-insensitive-friend/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

22 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. How can you stand her?

  2. some people are just so insensitive and tactless.

  3. Unfortunately, I do know a couple of those kind of friends. When they call, I just say, I’m sorry, I’m in the middle of something really important. So important, I don’t have time to talk to the likes of you. tse! πŸ˜€

    no, I don’t really do that, but I do try to avoid those kind of people. They just sap the energy out of you.

  4. oh di ba? need I say more?
    ang taray ng Lola ko! idol kita, pramis! πŸ™‚

  5. ZeenoZhya?!!

    Grabe, that is really so insensitive. And you can still call her a “friend”. Bait mo naman.

  6. That was indeed insensitive. I don’t think I can tolerate someone like her at all.

  7. hahaha, arent we stuck for the long haul? but i love being stuch for this long haul πŸ˜€

  8. Sigh. Hayaan mo siya! Sad that IFs exist–wawa naman her baby! Sigh.

  9. Hi Tina,
    I know I should steer clear of her by now but we don’t see each other on a daily/frequent basis. ‘Yun nga lang, the few times that we do, she acts and talks like this. Sigh 😦
    One day though. I will have my say.

  10. Hi Hailey,
    True. There are people in this world who doesn’t seem to know how their words affect people.

  11. Hi JMOM,
    Fair weathered friends really are everywhere. And they do sap the energy out of you. Unfortunately I can’t just turn my back on these so called “friends”. One of the things we have to deal with in life, I guess.

  12. Hi Feng,
    Hindi nga ako nakapag taray eh. Pero thanks! πŸ˜‰

  13. Hi Cookie,
    Onga eh. I’m such a doormat sometimes. 😦

  14. Hi Rach,
    That’s why I limit my conversations and get togethers with her. It’s just inevitable that we bump into each other sometimes.

  15. Hi Kengkay,
    Atta girl! That’s another way to look at it!

  16. Hi IA,
    Onga eh. I feel so bad for her baby, given her attitude.

  17. How can you stand her, Mary? Kakagigil!

  18. Hi Mary, the gall to call you, only to say those things. Kung ako yan, she’ll hear what she doesn’t want to hear and regrets ever calling me, ha ha.

  19. i detect jealousy in her. many mothers would love to be in your position staying home caring for the children.

  20. Hi Mary!

    I’ve gotten a lot of these too – both the insensitivity, and the down-playing of motherhood. It’s either these people are jealous of our being there all the time for the family, or they need an awakening.

    But, hey, Cheers to the most noble profession of all. Happy mother’s day!

  21. @ Julie: I try my best to avoid her actually. But on those times when she “catches” me, she goes all ballistic on me.

    @ Rowena: I don’t know if that’s how she gets her kicks. LOL buti na lang ‘di ikaw ang tinawagan. πŸ˜€

    @ Belle: You think so? It’s pretty irritating how she puts it but when you think about it, maybe she is indeed jealous!

    @ Chats: Either one of those reasons are probably what unleashes the beyotches in them, I guess.
    Happy mother’s day to you too! πŸ™‚

  22. Parang nanadya ahhhh. Sarap batukan!


Leave a comment