Solitude

I stay in the darkness as nocturnal creatures make their presence known with their sounds. My mind is blank and I have no idea what to do. I have no desire to clean or organize – my usual habits to kill time and feel a sense of accomplishment. I hear cars passing by, night owls who are just starting their day. I was once one of them – enjoying the bright lights and loud music. I am no more. 

I do not feel sad or lonely. I am just uneasy. I feel like I should be doing something productive, that I should be filling my time with activities or catching up on my reading. I have no desire to do anything. 

So here I am, sitting in the dark sunroom. Listening to chirps and frog calls and cars whizzing by. 

I am alone. But not lonely. 
© Greymom 

Published in: on November 6, 2015 at 9:58 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://greymom.wordpress.com/2015/11/06/solitude/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

