Working Again

Starting a new job is really hard. Starting something new is intimidating, daunting, scary. And I felt all of those as I once again joined the workforce. Suddenly, I am the new girl. Except that I am older, in fact, one of the older
employees in a young, dynamic workplace. And I am the only one with kids. And so goes the challenge – trying to fit in in an unfamiliar territory. Where do I sit, is there some kind of unspoken rule as to who sits where? Will I be
stepping on other people’s toes if I do something? It’s hard.

They come to work in designer duds and Starbucks in hand. And I had to switch my wardrobe from stay-at-home-Mom comfy clothing to professional working woman attire. I am trying to blend in, fit in.

I feel like the new kid in school. Except that I am a grown woman and I am expected to know better. Which makes it doubly hard. Not to mention the traffic – driving to and from work, I was stuck in a traffic jam last week. For the first time in a long time, I felt so stressed out as I sat and fidgeted in my seat. I sat in there for a long time, I must’ve
memorized the whole Taylor Swift CD I had playing on.

The Tweens and TheFisherman had to get used to me not being around all the time. TheFisherman lamented that he cannot call me anytime he wants anymore. The Tweens had to call me with homework help and I had to tell them what to do over the phone on my lunch break. It tugged at my heartstrings, I have to admit. But I also had to toughen it up because we all talked about this and we decided that we all need for me to do this. And so we swallow it all down, this new set-up.

We’ll all get used to this, I know. It’s always the transition phase that’s challenging.  For now I am thankful that I have a job in these tough times. And that I found an almost perfect job and decided to go ahead and start all over again.

Wish me luck.

Published in: on January 31, 2009 at 5:20 pm  Comments (23)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://greymom.wordpress.com/2009/01/31/working-again/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

23 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. whoa! what a challenge! you and your family will get used to the new set-up in no time, im sure. keep it up and goodluck!

  2. sounds exciting! may the good Lord guide you through the adjustments. looking forward to working-mom posts!

  3. I’ve been visiting your blog for a while now and I always find a
    gem in your new posts. Thanks for sharing.

    I run a related blog and recently was quoted saying…

    Sometimes the best place to start with your Wahm career is where your out of the home career ended. Many women find that they can become independent contractors in the field that they previously worked in. You can use your previous work experience as a launching pad for your Wahm career. Some of the ways to use your experience to your advantage are: finding a company that hires people in your field to work from home, using your previous experience to become an “expert” writer in your field or starting a business related to your previous field.

    You can see the full post as well as the full context of the
    quote above by checking out the page on my blog…

    http://www.bushgrre.com/public_html

    Bye for now,
    Isabela.

  4. hey congratulations! and best of luck on the new job! i’m green with envy, can hardly wait til i can do that too!

  5. Congratulations, Mary!

    I remember the same feelings everytime I start on a new job. Before you know it, you are adjusting very well with your new environment and co-workers!

    Lots of luck!

  6. Hi Ana,
    Thanks! It’s a challenge that I’m sure a lot of Moms face.

  7. Hi Anne,
    Thanks for the blessings. And I do hope to post working-mom posts as soon as I get the chance. 😉

  8. Hi Isabela,
    Thanks for the visit. Always a pleasure to have new people on board. Will visit your site as soon as I get the chance.

  9. Hi IA,
    Thanks. I’m sure you’ll find that job for you too! Hang in there! 🙂

  10. Hi Maps,
    I’m pretty sure you can relate. So glad to see you here. Best regards! 😉

  11. Sure would be difficult to adjust but you can do it, of course 🙂

    Me naman I am thinking of resigning from my other workplace especially since travel time takes me about more than 2 hours going there and back 😦

    • Hi Julie,
      Thanks. I am surviving, at least. Hope everything works out for you. 2 hours of travel time can be very stressful!

  12. congratulations on the new job. don’t worry, things will get easier as time goes on.

    • Thanks Belle. I know this too shall pass.

  13. oh wow! congratulations and good luck with the new job!!!

    • Thanks Sheilamarie!

  14. kayang kaya mo yan. Add me to your FB if you have an account.

    • Hi Jeannie,
      Naku, ‘di ko na naabot ang announcement mo. Atsaka sorry ha, but I don’t have an FB account.

  15. hi, please come see me for an announcement…

  16. wow, working mom! ako kaya kelan ulit 🙂

    happy mother’s day!

    • Hi Kengkay!
      Belated happy mother’s day! Ikaw naman susunod. Coming soon! 😉

  17. Hello there! Sorry for the off-topic comment, but I couldn’t find a contact form on your blog…

    I found your blog through other Mom blogs in the Philippines. My Singaporean partners and I are putting up a bloggers ad-placement network called Peach Bloggers Network, and we’re currently concentrating on Mom bloggers. We’d like to invite you to be part of the network. If you’re interested, please send me an email and I’ll tell you more about it.

    Cheers,
    Oliver “Blogie” Robillo
    http://www.robilloblog.com

    • Hi Blogie,
      Thanks for the invite. Will check it out asap.


Leave a Reply

