Semi-Hiatus

It’s been a whole lot of fun – the beach vacation. We spent 4 days and 3 nights by the beach and we have the tan to prove it. The Fisherman had a great time fishing whenever he felt like it. He was rewarded with 25 pieces of blue fish that are now comfortably encased in gallon ziploc bags, waiting to be devoured by the family.
We went with another family which made it more fun and cost effective. We brought pre-cooked meals that we can just microwave whenever needed. I baked enough cupcakes, bread and pastries enough to food an army. Soda, juice and milk and some wine and beer washed ’em all down and we were content and happy. At least we didn’t have to think about what to cook for the next meal, nor did we spend time making them. Instead it was all a walk to the beach, the kids catching the waves and me and my Mommy friend soaking up the sun underneath a beach umbrella. The sand in our toes, me and my straw hat and a bottle of ice cold water. We took in the scene – young men and women parading in their bikinis and surf shorts, all tan and buff. My friend and I looked at them and reminisced about the days when we were just as fit and trim. Ahhh, youth.

Going back home, we were bombarded with the reality of life once again – SOLs, housework, office work and what-have-yous. We once again fell in the routine of our daily lives. And looked forward to another vacation in the distant future.

TheFisherman and I decided to forgo with our home improvement projects. We opted to build memories instead. And so yes, the money that would have gone to the projects will now go to vacations and spending time with the family. It’s a better investment that a beautiful patio or a flagstoned stoop.

School will be out for the Tweens in just a few days, June 12th to be exact. And they are counting down the days while I am still reeling from the fact that school lets out early this year.

The MIL’s visit has been postponed due to a health related cause. And now it looks like my BIL might come with her too.

Overall, it has been crazy in our household lately. I wish I can crunch more hours in a day. But for now I will survive. And brace myself for what is to come.

I might not be able to blog a lot, if at all, for a while. I will try my best. I miss “visiting” my blogger friends and reading about their lives and stories. I will do so one day once the craziness has died down. For now I will be on semi-hiatus. Hope y’all have a great summer!

Published in: on June 3, 2008 at 7:26 pm  Comments (16)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://greymom.wordpress.com/2008/06/03/semi-hiatus/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

16 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Fun!! May I just say this..ang puti ng legs mo..hehehe 😀

    Next time, dito naman kayo mag-beach 😀

  2. vacationing is really a great break for the family, better than any other investments, that’s right. take your time, everybody has the right to a semi-hiatus from time to time ;). expert yata ako dyan, lol.

  3. Hi there, can we xlinks with my 3 other blogs? http://aveeandy.com/ http://www.essayoflife.info/ http://www.allaboutreviews.info/ Thanks a lot! Pls let me know.

  4. Sounds like a great vacation spent with the family. It’s nice to take some time off once in a while to relax and unwind.

    School has just started here. I bring my son to school everyday. The good thing about this year is that the school has free wifi. 🙂

    Enjoy the rest of the week Mary. Take care.

  5. blogging world looks dull and boring these days. but i decided to get back to my writing and open my site again to any readers. i reflected on it and thought there is so much in life to share. to hell with internet creeps. maybe ill just be careful with the photos i post. hopeto see you back again soon! enjoy!

  6. Hi Cookie,
    Sure thing! Nothing beats the beaches of the P.I. of course!
    Naku, maputla kamo ang legs ko dahil nakakulob the whole winter! LOL

  7. Hi Analyse,
    So true.I’m glad that we’re spending the money on vacations and building memories.
    I’ll take it from you and do the hiatus thing once in a while too. 😉 Thanks!

  8. Hi Rach,
    Wow, that’s good that Yohan’s school has free wi-fi. You have no excuse for not blogging then. LOL
    Thanks, Rach. Looking forward to a fun summer!

  9. Hi Anne,
    I’m so glad you’re back to the blogging world. We all need to be careful about things we do post but it shouldn’t stop us from sharing our stories.
    Hope to visit your site one of these days.

    All the best!

  10. Hi Mary! I’m blogging again on a new blogsite.

    Enjoy your hiatus, we all need and deserve the time off.

    Hi Maps! Just visited you on your new site. Thanks!

  11. Hello. I want to share with you http://GrabThatMoolah.com
    It’s another great site on making money online.
    You may want to check it out. =)

    Hi Lizzz, thanks for sharing! Obvious ba that I need shopping money?LOL

  12. enjoy your break. and you are right, sometimes it is better building memories than building, well, buildings 🙂 and we’re going to an unscheduled vacation, too – after the stress of the past weeks.

    Hi Raq! Thanks. Hope to visit you soon!

  13. How have you been Mary? I miss you na, friend. Hope everything is well.

    I’m okay, Julie. And I missed you too!!! Will visit you asap.

  14. was here checking whats new
    Thanks for visiting. I’m back now. 😉

  15. Building memories instead of home improvement, ah great way to spend Summer!
    Summer flew by and now it’s back to school. Take care Mary.

  16. Hi Tina,
    It was great indeed! Summer is over now and school starts tomorrow for the Tweens.
    Thanks. Ingat!


Leave a Reply

