Conversations with My 11 year old

Some snippets of our conversation:

On seeing me take my earrings off

Tween1: Why do girls wear earrings anyway?
Me: To make us look prettier
Tween1 (aghast): Why? That’s not right. That’s self-mutilation!
Me: Well, in tribes they even have those huge plates hanging from their mouth and rings on their necks.
Tween1: But still!

While driving on top of the hill and admiring the view:

Me: Oh look at that beautiful view?
Tween1: What’s beautiful about it? They cut down trees to build houses.
Me: Well the houses’ colors looks really nice.
Tween1: It would have been nicer if the only color is green – for all the trees.
Me: But still!

Β 

Β 

Published in: on April 14, 2008 at 10:22 am  Comments (15)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://greymom.wordpress.com/2008/04/14/conversations-with-my-11-year-old/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

15 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Whoa!! Hindi siya masyadong opinionated…noh πŸ˜€

    Seriously, it’s good that your tween has a pretty strong opinion on anything. Shows intelligence. Nagmana sa yo…naks πŸ˜€

    Have a great day, Mary πŸ™‚

  2. awwww

  3. Hi Cookie,
    Onga eh, opinionated ng konti, konti lang. πŸ˜€
    Wow ha, nagmana ba sa akin? πŸ˜‰
    Thanks for dropping by, Cooks!

  4. Hi Jeannie,
    awww indeed. It is times like these that makes me realize he’s growing up. A little too fast, I think:(

  5. Yes, he is opinionated and he has his own standards that are ok naman. Imagine saying his opinions about the wearing of jewelry (at least hindi “magarbo”) and his concern for the environment.

  6. hmmm, mukhang magkakasundo kami sa points of view.. great that an 11 year old could have such a strong character..

  7. my favorite is the ‘but still’ i had to chuckle in spite of the wisdom that it conveys. hehehe. so cute the way he is so sure of what he believes in.

  8. Hi Julie,
    I didn’t know if I was going to be proud or frustrated. LOL

  9. Hi Analyse,
    I agree that he has such a strong character. He’s very confident and opinionated. I couldn’t be more proud. πŸ˜‰

  10. Hi Anne,
    I know, right? It’s like those 2 words explains everything. πŸ™‚

  11. I’m back. Yesterday, my son (6 going 7 this July) looked at me as I put some earrings, which I rarely do. He blurted out, “Tay, si Nanay, sinasaktan ang ears niya.”

  12. Kakatuwa naman because at her young age she knows how to express her own views.

  13. yup, your son is very intelligent. he would make a good lawyer someday.

  14. @Julie: LOL, sinasaktan pala yung ears! hehehe. Self mutilation nga yata ang dating sa kanila.

    @ Rachel: I know. Gone are the days when youngsters need to keep silent around elders and not allowed to express their views. Signs of the times or are the kids more getting intelligent?

    @ Belle: Thanks. He does know how to stress a point huh?

  15. Gosh, I don’t look forward to the day when I will have those conversations with my kids. Can’t they just stay 4 years old forever? haha!


Leave a Reply

