Movies Recently Rented and Viewed

Dirty Pretty Things – you wouldn’t know from the title that this is a good movie with social awakening. Starring Audrey Tautou (which TheFisherman has a crush on but vehemently denies it), this is a movie about immigrants and the things they had to go through to make it. Very good movie, some disturbing scenes but not a violent movie, or at least not that much.

 Lucky 7 – starring Patrick Dempsey and Kimberly Williams. Love both actors since the 80’s when he was the dorky dude with the moppy hair (Can’t Buy Me Love, With Honors, to name a few) and she the baby daughter that the father did not want to give away (Father of the Bride). A romantic comedy, this is definitely a chic flick.

Black Water– set in Australia, a group of 4 people venture out into the mangrove swamps to go fishing and gets tangled in the murky, dark waters. Long and boring, this was a slow-paced suspenseful movie. Good one if you’re one of those types of people who can stare at the screen for hours on end watching Discovery channel shows. There were moments when you feel scared but I don’t care much for these types of movies.

Into the Wild – much hyped about movie directed by Sean Penn and starring Emile Hirsch. I thought the character was pretty selfish. Maybe it’s the Mom in me but for this person to go out and venture out into the world after a comfortable life handed out to him by his generous parents and not tell them anything is being very very selfish indeed. I mean, I am all for the “finding oneself” and being a non-conformist but to let his parents and sister go through what they went through is totally unacceptable. The movie was long and could have been shorter and still had the point across. The scenery was breathtaking though and the acting was good.

Beowulf – We started to watch this with the kids as it said “not rated” in the Blockbuster sleeve. But about 5 minutes into the movie and the words “whore” and “fornication” were mentioned. We had to stop it there and then and told the kids not to watch it. The computer animation made everything look forced and stoic. Angelina Jolie plays a monster who masquerades as a beautiful woman out to seduce kings. It was an okay movie but definitely not for the kids. Too much gore, violence and foul language.

Published in: on March 12, 2008 at 12:44 pm  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://greymom.wordpress.com/2008/03/12/movies-recently-rented-and-viewed/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] Read the rest of this great post here […]

  2. visiting you here

  3. I am so out of it. I haven’t heard of any of these 🙂

  4. Hi Mary. It’s my son’s summer break and I have a lot of time on my hands. I just bought a new book but I also feel like watching movies, especially the ones I missed.

    I missed Lucky 7. I hope I can find the DVD. I also like Patrick Dempsey since the 80s.

  5. Hi Mary. It’s my son’s summer break and I have a lot of time in my hands. In fact I just bought a book but I would like to watch movies too especially those I missed lately.

    I missed Lucky 7. I also like Patrick Dempsey since the 80s. I remember watching Can’t Buy Me Love at the movie theater (with a date). 🙂

  6. I love Audrey, she is so beautiful and intense in her acting power.

    I haven’t had the chance to watch movies lately but we had stocked up on DVDs of TV series like Chuck, Psych, Damages, NCIS, even Dexter. We buy from a suki, 70/cd 😉

  7. hope you are okay now. which movie is the best?

  8. Thanks for the visit, Avee!

    Hi realworldmartha, don’t worry, it’s not you. My husband just has this flair for picking “unique” movies.

    Rach, I think Lucky 7 was a made for TV movie, not sure. But do watch it especially for gals like us who love Patrick Dempsey.

    I agree Julie. Audrey is so beautiful. That’s why I don’t mind that husband has a crush on her (which he still denies). Ha? Mura naman ng 70/cd! Makapamili nga pag uwi ko! 😀

    Hi Hailey, of course I like Lucky 7 the best for the ff reasons:
    1. it’s a chick flick
    2. Patrick Dempsey (need I say more? ) LOL


Leave a Reply

