The Good, The Bad and The Ugly

It has been a while and a lot has happened. Sometimes life gets faster than we can write about it and sometimes we get caught up in the moment and in the end we forget about certain things. We try our very best to process every goings on in our lives, not wanting to miss a single moment. Through the tears and laughter, the good and the bad. Here are some I remember so far:

The Bad (and Ugly)

Β I’ve been sick for almost 2 weeks. I think this is a curse from the God of exercise. When I cancelled my gym membership and stopped going, baking and cooking and eating too much just added to the problem. Hence I am now overweight, depressed and my fridge is full of baked goodies (if I don’t get to it first). I’ve had the misfortune of experiencing the following signs and symptoms (in no particular order): migraine, sinusitis, diarrhea, cold, cough, chest congestion, middle ear infection and pink eye. I am getting the impression that someone put a horrible spell on me. What next?

The Good

Β In every bad news, there has to some good. That’s what I tell my kids – that for something to be good, there has to be some bad. Life’s way of balancing things out. They believe me and I do too. Although I did not get my iPhone (yes I am still sulking about this big time!), I did get an unexpected surprise from The Fisherman – a red, shiny piece of equipment that I have been salivating over in the past few years. And while it makes me such an uncool Mom for coveting this piece of equipment, I do not care. For I can do a lot of cool things with it. I can bake beautiful pastries, bread and cakes and pies. And my handheld mixer will be put to rest. Well, not really, because I am attached to my things. I refuse to give away my handheld mixer. But this big, shiny thing has now a place on my countertop. And so without further ado ——
kitchenaid2.jpg
The Kitchen Aid Professional Mixer

kitchenaid.jpg
Big, Red and Shiny! Yes, red is a happy color!

All in all, I might be sniffling and my eyes might be red and itchy and my head feels like a giant balloon blown up to the heavens but I am okay. I am happy with my new piece of equipment. And yes, I might be baking more and concocting gooey, sweet stuff but who cares? For now I am happy with my new toy. Consider this my pre-iPhone gift πŸ˜‰

Published in: on January 29, 2008 at 5:27 pm  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://greymom.wordpress.com/2008/01/29/the-good-the-bad-and-the-ugly/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] bookmarks tagged unexpected The Good, The Bad and The Ugly saved by 2 others     KanouSomoku bookmarked on 01/29/08 | […]

  2. that’s the spirit!! sorry to hear you getting sick. i got sick also for two weeks, during the holidays. yes, what can be worse? Christmas till new year, i didn’t have a voice. oh well… congratulations on your new, red, shiny toy!!! bless your hands for baking yummy goodies.

  3. Well, that is a wonderful new toy to get yourself busy, productive and more loved by those who will eat the goodies. You can probably start your own business now, Mary. I have a friend in FL who can’t even fry an egg before but can now bake cakes like those being sold in bakeshops. She earns from these too πŸ˜‰

  4. Well, with spring just around the corner hopefully all the bad will go away. And congrats on your new toy!! Ganda!!

  5. woowww!! I like your new toy, Mary!!! Pwde pahiram? hehehe. Have fun!! And don’t forget to post pics of the goodies! πŸ™‚

  6. wow! hihintayin ko mga ibe-bake mo ah πŸ˜€

  7. Hi Anne, sorry to hear that you’ve been sick too. And thank you, I will be making use of this new toy of mine. πŸ˜‰

    Hi Julie, that’s funny because whenever I send baked goodies to my sons’ schools, they say they get compliments. One of G’s teachers told him that I should definitely open a bake shop. I am mulling over the idea especially when I get complimented on, so we’ll see. Maybe then I can earn enough money to buy an iPhone! LOL πŸ˜€

    Hi Cookie, so true, spring is just around the corner and that is one thing to look forward to. Thanks! Love my new toy talaga! πŸ˜‰

    Hi Maps, sige UPS ko dyan sa FL! I will post pics of my goodies!

    Hi Lizzz, I sure will be baking a lot and posting pics! πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

