Recently Viewed Movies

Here are some movies we recently watched:

I AM LEGEND – this was one movie our whole family was waiting for as soon as we saw the preview. You gotta love Will Smith movies and my sons loved him in Independence Day, Men in Black and Hitch. So off we went on the first day it showed. It was okay and the kids liked it. But I got scared! During the movie, there was one scene too terrifying for me to watch that I turned to FH and told him I’ll wait for them at the shopping mall. To which he looked at me and said: “are you serious?”. I waited for a bit and decided I’d stay. 10 year old G got scared at one point too that he covered his face with his jacket. This movie is not for little kids. Hey, if I got scared, chances are the little kids will be too!

STARDUST – this was a Blockbuster rental and the whole family watched it for movie night. We loved it! The fantasy and the the effects was good enough and “not too babyish” as my sons put it. Loved seeing Robert DeNiro in drag! It was such a hoot and I highly recommend this movie.

CHARLIE WILSON’S WAR – FH and I watched this for our anniversary. Now I am not into war pictures at all. FH and the kids on the other hand, loves war and gore and violence. Ugh! But since Tom Hanks was in it, I said yes even though I would have chosen Atonement instead (curious to see how James MacAvoy was awarded by Keira Knightley to be the best kisser. what? Not Orlando Bloom?!). Julia Roberts was in a bikini, Tom Hanks showed his behind (or was that a body double?) and the story was likeable enough. FH loved the movie as it was history. Course we were the only ones below 50, judging from the other moviegoers. I suddenly felt old and dignified. But it was okay.

50 FIRST DATES – Saw this on TNT the other day and I heart Drew Barrymore. LOVE Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore movies. This was a good one too and I enjoy watching it every time. I think I watched this about 20 times by now and I had to buy the soundtrack too. This time around though, after watching it I thought – this does not make sense. How in the heck can you not get tired of making someone fall inlove with you every single day? No matter how cute Drew is, or how much you love the person, won’t there be a day that you get tired and say: okay, whatever, today I won’t do that whole fall-inlove-with-me-all-over-again routine. But, as my sons always puts it – it’s just a movie Mom!

THE NANNY DIARIES – I loved the book more than the movie. It was a good, easy, fun read. The movie was okay. Scarlett Johansson’s acting was okay and Laura Linney was hateable as Mrs. X. Harvard Hottie, now let me think. When I was reading the book I imagined him to be dark haired and different. But the actor did okay. Of course some things were changed and Paul Giamatti was weird and very much like a dirty-old-man in the film. Alicia Keys need to keep her day job though.

Published in: on January 11, 2008 at 3:09 pm  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://greymom.wordpress.com/2008/01/11/recently-viewed-movies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] Technorati Search for: movie created an interesting post today on Recently Viewed MoviesHere’s a short outline […]

  2. I love First 50 Dates 🙂

    *Off topic, I did not like GA last night. Naiinis ako 😦

  3. […] Here’s another interesting post I read today by GreyMom […]

  4. Maps, so sorry to hear that (abt GA).

  5. Hi Mary,
    I would like to watch I am Legend. It’s been so long since I have watched a movie. My hubby gave me a DVD for My Pursuit of Happyness, I have yet to sit down and watch it. Maybe after the Superbowl.

    Hope things are going well.

  6. hello. the first one is good. which do you like (the best)?

  7. i would love to be on your blogroll.lol

  8. Hi Tina,
    Haven’t watched Pursuit of Happyness. HAve to add that on our Blockbuster queue. Thanks! I’m doing better, thanks for caring.

    Hi Hailey,
    Excuse me while I die of shame here. I thought all along that I had you in my blogroll. I already put you there and if your name would have started with the letter A, you would have been first on the list. My apologies!
    Which of the aforementioned movies do I like best? I can’t really say. They’re all different genres. I did enjoy Stadust a lot! How about you? Have you watched any of the movies?


Leave a Reply

