I Will Survive

Christmas has come and gone and I still feel like a train ran over me. That week before Christmas has been horrible. I had a sinus infection where I felt like an anvil has been sitting on my head forever. FH had bronchitis, his hacking cough felt like a train screeching to a halt on Union Station. G had a sinus infection as well which prevented him from going to school for the last week before the holidays. Which meant I had to stay home with him and cancel my Christmas shopping. Thank God for the stash of gifts I have lying around in my dresser. You see, sometimes bargain shopping does pay off. I shop every-time I see sale items and hide it in my dresser so that in case of emergencies like last minute birthday parties and such, I have the dresser to shop from. And so that’s what happened during the last week before Christmas. I was busily shopping for gifts from my dresser. And thank God for last year’s gift bag off season sale, I had enough gift bags for everyone.

My sister and her family came over and so did my Mom. We had a great time bonding amid the wrapping papers and food. And speaking of food! We had food enough to feed an army! I managed to cook and bake and spruce up the house a little bit for the guests. Guests did come bearing food too. Desserts mostly, but it did help a lot. I think I gained 20 lbs over the holidays once again.

I did not get my iPhone. 😦 But it’s okay. Our finances isn’t as good this year and I insisted that I receive no gifts from Santa (ahem, FH!) What was important was that we all got better just in time for Christmas.

I was glad I survived Christmas and had enough energy and was in good spirits to party for the New Year.

Published in: on January 3, 2008 at 6:39 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://greymom.wordpress.com/2008/01/03/i-will-survive/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] Here’s another interesting post I read today by GreyMom […]

  2. I didn’t get anything from my wishlist either…hmmph!! Spoiled brat eh..hahaha 🙂

    Parepareho lang tayo. I’m also recovering from a really bad cold and cough. Last year it was intestinal flu and I had to be brought to the ER at 4am!! It’s the stress.

    I’m both sad and glad that it’s over. Now we both have an entire year to look forward to. And an entire year to prepare for the next onslaught.

    Malay mo, you’ll get your iphone for your birthday 🙂

  3. Hi Mary. I’m glad that you’re feeling better just in time for the New Year. Sad to say, my son was sick on the first day of the year. He was supposed to go to school today but he he had slight fever last night so I thought it would be best if he can rest for another day or two.

    Wishing you and your family all the best in 2008. God bless.

  4. See? And who said bargain shopping means just getting junk accumulated? At least you saved on some, lol!

    have a great week, Mary! 🙂

  5. i could be a little late here, still i would like to greet you and your family HAPPY NEW YEAR.. am glad that you are feeling ok now… have a wonderful day!

  6. Hi Cookie! Sorry you were sick and didn’t get your iphone either. keep wishing na lang tayo! 😉

    Hi Rach! Aaaw pooor Yohan! I hope he’s better by now. Thanks and hope this year brings you the best! 🙂

    Hi Julie! So true! And it did give me a chance to validate my bargain shopping to FH! Revenge is sweet! bwahahaha

    Hi Marie! Happy new year to you too, lovely girl!


Leave a Reply

