Mary Got Run Over by a Reindeer

I have been battling a horrible, dry, hacking cough and headache for a week now. My youngest son G is too. I think I got it from him and I feel horrible and so does he. FH was at the doctor’s and was diagnosed with bronchitis. I had to go yesterday and was diagnosed with sinus infection. We’re both on antibiotics but G isn’t. He only had to take a decongestant. I blame the really cold weather which makes us turn on the heater producing dry air. No amount of humidifiers in our house can battle the dry, hot air. I curse the cold weather again.

So glad I got my Christmas shopping out of the way. And I’m so glad I had the foresight to wrap the gifts early so I don’t have to while I was feeling crummy. I am still nursing a really bad headache when I had to go and run some errands. One of which was going to the post office to ship some eBay items. As I was standing in line at the P.O., I was mentally kicking myself: what the heck was I thinking? Timing the auction so that it’ll end on a high traffic holiday shipping extravaganza? I blame the meds I’ve been taking.

I haven’t cooked in days. Thank God for take-out and pre-packaged meals. My family must be feeling like we are a military barracks eating RTO rations. Oh well, they’ll live.

I’ve managed to bake up a storm prior to all these. I made food for the gods, banana nut loaf, pecan tarts and steamed some embutido (Filipino meatloaf, I guess?) which I promptly distributed to the giftees. I have yet to bake more stuff for the Christmas party which will be held here at our home. What were we thinking? Hosting a Christmas party at our home? There will be about 7 families coming over. For this, I blame no one.

And so, here I am, nursing a headache like a hungover college student on spring break in Mexico. I feel like I have been run over by a reindeer and Christmas is biting me in the a**.

Published in: on December 22, 2007 at 11:35 pm  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://greymom.wordpress.com/2007/12/22/mary-got-run-over-by-a-reindeer/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi GreyMom! I hope you’ll get well soon. I hate the cold too, it makes me lazy waking up early in the morning. It is one of the reasons why I am thankful that I work in the second shift. Anyway, just dropping by to leave you and your family a seasons greetings. MERRY CHRISTMAS and ENJOY THE PARTY!!!

    Oh before I forget, can you pls update my blog URL to http://maryanj.com ? thank you so much GreyMom… MERRY CHRISTMAS ONCE AGAIN & HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

  2. Hi Mary. Sorry to know you’ve been under the weather. Hope you are feeling much better now.

    Wishing you and your family a blessed Christmas and promising New Year.

  3. Merry Christmas to your family!

    btw, kindly update your records.. it’s http://www.zitrozil.net na po… thanks!

  4. hope you are well now. i have a tag for you.

  5. Mary, hope you are feeling much,much better now.

    My, you had a lot of guests. I wouldn’t be able to handle that myself, lol!

    I hope you had a wonderful Christmas and I wish you and your family the best that 2008 can bring. Cheers! 🙂

  6. Mary, how are you feeling? This is so late, but I hope you’re feeling ok now. And how’s the party? I would have gone crazy if in the same situation. I’m sure you handled it well 🙂 Take care! Happy New Year to you and your family 😀

  7. Mary, i hope you are feeling better by now. just drink lots and lots of healthy juices, and that should help speed up the recovery…take care and happy new year to you and your family.

  8. mary, so sorry to hear that you have not been feeling well. i hope everything is better now with both you and your son G.

    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

  9. Hi Marie! Thanks. Will update your site.
    Hi Rach! Thanks for the greetings! Hope you had a good one too!

    Hi Lizzz! Will update your site. thanks for dropping by!
    Hi Hailey! Thanks for dropping by, will check out that tag!
    Hi Julie! Thanks for the greetings. And yes, we did have a lot of guests but we survived, thank God!
    Hi Maps! The party was a success, thanks for asking.
    Hi Belle! Thanks for the mommying-doctoring. I am feeling better now.
    Hi Sheilamarie! Thanks for the greetings! Long time no hear!


Leave a Reply

