I’m Baaaaack!

It’s been almost a month and so much has happened. Life has taken on crazy twists and turns and I have tried my best to navigate through. I have come out of it still shaken and woozy but alive nonetheless. And maybe in the course of the coming days I will be able to divulge everything, well almost everything, that transpired. Although there are some things I’d rather forget.

Christmas is almost here and I am one of the few (or the many, depends which way you look at it) who gets depressed around the holidays. But no matter how down I feel, I still make the trek to the malls and shopping outlets to snag the best deals for Christmas gifts. This year though, I am a little late. It used to be that before Black Friday even starts or immediately after, I have scratched off my gift list. Not this year. Sure I look forward to my Mom and my sister who will fly over from FL and some relatives and close friends will join us for lunch but somehow, I am not feeling the Christmas spirit. We just bought our tree – fresh because FH insists on getting a live one, ’tis the smell, he says, 2 weeks before the big day. It is standing on the side of the living room, bare except for one ornament G made. He hung it there himself, so it won’t look naked, he says. I shrug it off, feeling sorry for the tree – taken from the lot where all the fresh trees were and now thrust into the warm house where it stays naked and bare for the next 3 days. I have to wait ’til weekend to decorate it. I didn’t find the lights in the 5 red Rubbermaid bins marked “xmas”. And so will wait until the kids have gone off school and FH is off work. The tree will finally get the attention over the weekend.

I might be better off tomorrow. When the stockings are hung and the lonely wreath we have hanging in the foyer will be joined by reds and greens and golds. It has taken me a long time but it’s going to be okay.

Just wanted to say I’m back.

Published in: on December 14, 2007 at 9:47 am  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://greymom.wordpress.com/2007/12/14/im-baaaaack/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m glad to see you’re back and kicking… and whatever doesn’t kill us makes us stronger right? 😀

    Have fun trimming the family tree!

  2. nice to see you back! if it were not for the kids, i don’t mind not celebrating Christmas.

  3. Glad to know you are, Mary. Have fun decorating the tree. 🙂

  4. Welcome back, Mary! And happy shopping and decorating 😀

  5. Nice to have you back, Mary!! And just in time for Christmas 🙂

  6. HI Christianne! Thanks and I agree we get stronger every time stuff happens.

    Hi Belle! Good to be back. Tell me about it! I’m getting too old to celebrate Christmas, if you ask me.

    Hi Julie! Thanks!!! The tree has been decorated. woohoo!!

    Hi MOM! Thanks! Now off to more shopping! 😀

    Hi Cookie! Glad to be back. It took the Christmas season to get me out. 😉


Leave a Reply

