Decisions, decisions

words of wisdom from Carolyn Hax, a Washington Post advice columnist:

Most “impossible” decisions mean you actually do know what you want but feel internal pressure to talk yourself out of it.

Base your decisions on what you know, not just on what you fear.

Published in: on October 31, 2007 at 8:37 am  Comments (11)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://greymom.wordpress.com/2007/10/31/decisions-decisions/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. couldnt agree more…

  2. short, nice and very true!

  3. I am in the midst of making major decisions and this short but heart-piercing insight made me pause. I hope I am doing and deciding on what I think is right for me, and not what I think I want for me. Thanks for the reminder.

    I actually did a post about it: How Much is Too Much? (don’t want to put the link here because that would be OA, but you are welcome to read the post and give me insights).

    Take care!

  4. absolutely true! Such a very beautiful quote. thank you fro sharing this.

  5. Thank you for sharing this insightful quote.

    Hope you’re enjoying the long weekend. Take care!

  6. gosh. sounds very true and related to my recent post. blessings!

  7. I agree. It’s hard to decide because often we don’t want to let go of some illusions,myths and past conditionings which have been ingrained in us; we are anxious of consequences; we are afraid of consequences (wanting to be on the safe side always) and we don’t want to hurt others. By experience, the longer it takes us to decide, the harder our decision-making becomes.

    Thanks for this timely quote.

  8. daan daan lag grey mom

  9. Hi Mary,
    It would be better if you make your decisions after you list down all the pros and cons. Rather than the ideas just jumbled on your head. Just write them down, it’s much easier that way.

    Then a little bit of risk management comes into play. How much risk are you taking and is it worth it?

    Just go out and take a breath of fresh air, it’s nice out. 🙂

  10. Decision making can be quite tough especially when it involves something important in life. Sometimes, we have to make some risks in making such decisions.

  11. First off, thanks for all the comments. I wrote this down without sharing my own experiences or thoughts since I know everyone has to make decisions in their everyday lives. And that’s why I thought it best to just the quote speak for itself. I thank everyone for their advices and thoughts on the matter. All of you have really good points and wisdom to impart. I appreciate all the comments!
    ((((hugs))))


Leave a Reply

