Restriction schmestriction!

What do you do when something you want to do is restricted by your husband? Do you give in and just resign yourself to this horrible fate? Or do you fight back and stand your ground? In my case, I did both.

When FishermanHubs restricted my yard sale shopping a couple of months ago, I reluctantly agreed. But deep inside, I know I can never turn back on yard sale, flea market, vintage store, bargain shopping. And so I devised an evil plan – I called on the help of my friends andΒ asked them to clean their closets and declutter our lives. Yup, I told them that we will be hosting a multi-family yard sale. At first we scouted flea market listings so we don’t have to do the advertising ourselves. All we needed to do was pay for a table and we’re in business. Another friend had a better idea: why don’t we do it in someone else’s front yard, have a pot luck/barbecue and the kids can all gather and play in the backyard. It sounded like a plan and that’s what we did. Everybody was happy, we unloaded a lot of stuff (whatever didn’t sell was donated to the Salvation Army), we had fun while doing it and earned money too.

And so after emptying the attic, I turned around and bought more stuff. Silently, slealthily and carefully. πŸ™‚

Here then are some of my yard sale finds:

sterlingsilverearrings.jpg

sterling silver earrings still in box, shaped like flowers with punched dot effects – $2.50 (the Lady was asking $5.00 but I got it down to $2.50)

black_and_whitephotos.jpg

black and white photos of local places in the area. I was kicking myself when I got home for not buying everything. These would look really nice framed in black. The seller said her sister took these shots themselves, mounted them and never got round to framing them. $0.25 each

These were just some of my finds. I am getting really picky now and not buying something just ’cause I like it. I am, after all, restricted. πŸ˜‰

Published in: on October 17, 2007 at 9:53 am  Comments (14)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://greymom.wordpress.com/2007/10/17/restriction-schmestriction/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

14 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi there! I like those earrings, they’re beautiful and it’s really a good deal as well as the pics. I can picture out how fun the yard sale was.

  2. I love black and white pics. Parang they’re surreal in some way. Hahaha..kala mo naman alam ang meaning ng surreal πŸ™‚

    Naku, ang strict naman ni Fishermanhubs 😦

    Pero galing ng technique mo πŸ™‚

  3. Hi MarieJ, the earrings look really nice in person, I assure you! I wore it the other day, as a matter of fact and had lots of compliments. πŸ˜‰

  4. LOL Cookie πŸ˜€ ! Oo, at talagang artistic ang dating! Strict talaga si FishermanHubs at times pero I know how to get around it sometimes πŸ˜‰

  5. H Mary, really nice earrings…

  6. Congrats on your Egel Nest Award!

    And thanks for the visit to the Nest!

    Bradley
    The Egel Nest

  7. Thank you sa pagbisita at sa message..same talaga tayo ng view sa isyu na yon…may dinagdag pa akong points or opinion ko don sa comments part ng post ko na yon…if you drop by again, please tell me kung agree ka pa sa kinakatakutan ko about the kids using pills…siyanga pala, pwede ba makipag-exlink sayo? juz lemme know kung ok…nytnyt…thanks!

  8. I love the title of this entry. Naku, tell your hubs payagan ka once in a while hehe. You are really have good bargain skills hehe. Those B & W photographs so nice!!! After framing them it’s good wall accents πŸ™‚

  9. Thanks Rowena!

    Hi Brad! Thanks for visiting too!

    Hi MarieJ, No prob. Will visit your site again and I will be more than honored to exlink with you. Thanks!

    Hi MOM! Okay ba ang title? πŸ˜‰ Now I am on the hunt for black frames naman πŸ˜€

  10. good finds, greymom. it is nice to have those pictures framed and displayed in your family room. ang gaganda ng mga kuha.

    i love the earrings!

  11. Hi Belle! Ganda talaga ng pics. Nagsisisi pa din ako why I didn’t buy all of them. 😦

  12. what a wonderful woman you are. ang galing! i actually bought some decorative plates (used) on ebay, and it’s hiding here in my home office. I will surprise my husband one day, but that will be awhile. i have to TIME It hahahah

  13. Thanks Jeannie! You’re my kind of gal! πŸ˜‰

  14. am sure you enjoyed it more, hehe


Leave a Reply

