Life is Hard

I have tried to avoid posting negative stuff here in my blog. I don’t want to spread the negative energy to people. But sometimes it is inevitable. For isn’t our blog an account of our lives? It is where we put our thoughts and emotions on print ( I was going to say pen & paper). So here I am, feeling so down in the dumps and finding myself writing.

In today’s newspaper, the Washington Post, there’s this advice column that I read called “Tell me About It” by Carolyn Hax. I don’t read it everyday, sometimes I just check to see what is there and move on. Other times I read and find wisdom and my “aha” moment (as Oprah calls it). This is the part of the advice that caught my eye:

Life is hard. It’s hard for everyone.
Somehow, despite this, miraculously, it’s not in our nature to stand up at our own retirement parties and declare, “Being me has been torture from my earliest flickers of self-awareness”. Instead, it’s “I feel so fortunate”.
Maybe you feel your life has been torture. Even so, only you know, in the private, unflinching, deepest recesses of your soul, whether you can claim a life of good fortune and mean it.
~~~Carolyn Hax for the Washington Post~~~

And so, I once again, take comfort. Despite all the hurdles and roadblocks I am going through at this point in my life, I know that the road will clear. And there will be a rainbow at the end of the storm. Life is hard. But we deal with it the best way we can. And hope for the best that we’ll turn out okay. Armed with experience and learning from our mistakes, we trudge on in the highway of life.

Life is indeed what we make it and only we can be captains of our ships and be the ones who steer the course into what will become of us. We know ourselves the best – what we are capable of and what we can become. It is up to us to maximize our potentials, use what we can and try our very best not to mess up. But if we do and we stumble and fall, we rise up again.  

Published in: on October 3, 2007 at 9:42 am  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://greymom.wordpress.com/2007/10/03/life-is-hard/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi i found your site at Rachel’s blog in her meme.Hope you don’t mind if i say something a little bit here in your site.

    I agree that life is hard indeed!Though it is like that but we have to cheer ourselves up & move on enable for us to live this crazy world yet it’s a wonderful place to live.

  2. There was one quote that says something like, It is not important how many times we fall but what matters is we rise again after each fall.

    When I’m feeling down and talk to people, I feel better because I realized that what I’m going through is nothing compared to them. Hope everything works out for the best. Take care!

  3. Hi Darlene! Welcome and thanks for the comment. So true, the world is still a wonderful place!

    Hi MOM: I agree. Talking to people and being with friends is the best therapy! Thanks. I hope everything works out too.

  4. Mary, what are blogs for but to say our thoughts out loud? It helps since there would be people reading about what we are going through and can offer a virtual shoulder to cry on and a virtual hug to make one feel better. I am offering you both.

    Yes,life is hard. In fact, it seems to be getting harder everyday. I can see that everyday whenever go out. Not that we do not experience this hardship, we do. But we are thankful still for the things we can do, the things we have and the things that somehow make our life worth living. Not that we are happy to be “more fortunate” than others but still, we should be thankful.

    Life is beautiful.

  5. Aaaaww, thanks Julie!

  6. of course, you can say anything you want on your blog. what are blogs for?

    indeed, life is hard. i am a worry wart and i worry about my children of how they are going to survive in this tough and cruel world. you know what, i never miss to say a prayer for them every day. that is all i can do and, of course, it wouldn’t hurt to remind them constantly of the dangers in the world we are living in.

    take care!

  7. i do agree, life’s hard.. but i belief that through life’s hardships that’s where we learn how to be better people.

  8. blog away. it’s your space and place to say anything.

    “But if we do and we stumble and fall, we rise up again.”

    I agree. Hope all is well.

  9. Thanks Belle! It’s really hard being a parent and I thank Moms like you who share their life experiences so that we can all learn from each other.

    Hi Chi, I second the motion! It’s life’s hardships that makes us better people.

    Hi Dexie, Thanks! All’s well. Busy and chaotic but okay. 😉


Leave a Reply

