September 11

Where were you on Sept. 11?

This was a question that, until now, is being asked by people of each other. There are so many events that happened in my life that I can barely remember but this one is so clear in my mind. The sympathy and horror is still the same as it was on that fateful day.

I was cleaning the bathroom that day and my oldest son C was in preschool, FishermanHubs was at work and it was just me and youngest son G at home. I turned on the radio, something I do while cleaning up – listening to music while cleaning is my thing. Instead of music, the ramblings of a radio announcer wafted through the airwaves. Thinking that it was the hourly news report, I didn’t pay attention and proceeded to put cleanser on the tub. 30 minutes into scrubbing and still, Mr. Radio Announcer was still talking. Not wanting to change the radio station, I turned on the TV and saw the twin towers smoking. I slumped on the floor, rubber gloves in my hand and watched in horror as I heard the news – America is under attack. Tears welled up in my eyes as I thought about the many people trapped inside the building. They were someone else’s Moms, Dads, Uncles, Aunts, Sisters, Brothers, Grandparents. I wondered how many Filipinos were inside and I sobbed. My husband called me on the phone and told me the news, he just heard himself. “What do we do with C?”, I asked. “Better call the school and find out but I bet they’ll keep them there”. I wanted to run and pick up C there and then but I calmed down and called the school. Husband was right. They were indeed keeping the kids in school, on lockdown until it’s safe. “When do you think will it be safe?” I said. “We don’t know, Ma’am but rest assured that the kids are safe inside the schools”. I wanted to tell her: “but what about those people in those buildings? weren’t they supposed to be safe working in their offices that they’ve been working in day in and day out?” But I bit my tongue and thought she was affected as I am.

I kept G preoccupied with his Disney movie and I went back to watching the news. The Pentagon was hit, so close to home. Friends and neighbors related that they felt the boom and saw the smoke coming from the Pentagon, I didn’t bother to check. Traffic was a mess as people were scrambling to go home. I had goosebumps the whole time I was watching the whole attack. The images of the smoking building, of people jumping, of pedestrians all covered with white ash was so vivid even after the whole ordeal. I cursed whoever was responsible for the many lives of innocent people. And prayed for the people who left families behind.

America has never been the same. People have never been the same. We will never understand what kind of human being would plan and execute such horrific thing. As a result, our lives have been disrupted and we will never, ever be the same.

Published in: on September 20, 2007 at 11:25 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://greymom.wordpress.com/2007/09/20/september-11/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

