Movies we Recently Watched

Here are some movies we recently watched on DVD:

Catch and Release – I love Jennifer Garner. I think she’s perfect. Not too girly, is just like one of the boys and very beautiful. She’s a great actress too! I love her whether she’s kicking butt in Alias or being goofy in 13 Going on 30 and being the girl next door in romantic movies.
The movie was okay. Not too believable, the storyline. But it makes for good entertainment and that Timothy Olyphant is one eye candy too!

Bridge to Terabithia – Having been marketed as “just like Chronicles of Narnia” we were expecting something more magical to happen. Instead, one of the lead characters died and they lived in their own fantasy until the very end. Sure there were some resolutions but still, where was the real magic? The effects were okay and they could have explored it more. In the end, the audience feels cheated.

Miss Potter – Despite warnings in movie reviews stating that “Renee Zellweger looked like she’s sucking lemons” (her face and lips contort in such a way that you wonder if she really is), we watched the movie. It’s the story of the children’s book author Beatrix Potter. While her story is a good one – woman from well-to-do family becomes author and gets engaged to her editor, it is a common one. It is a peek into her untold life story. Ewan Macgregor was under utilized in the movie. I am so glad we just rented it and not watched it at the movie theatre. It’s not worth it.

Babe – I know, this is an old movie, if you call 1995 old. I love this movie and youngest son G loves pigs so much. I get a hoot watching the 3 tiny mice and mimic their teeny tiny voice. Best line in the movie: “that’ll do, pig, that’ll do”. My sons were surprised and they thought that Shrek came first with the line. I had to explain to them that this came first.

Astronaut Farmer – this is a feel good movie that we all watched as a family. It’s basically the believe-in-your-dreams-and-they-will-come-true kind of movie. Nonetheless we enjoyed it. Billy Bob Thornton is such a good actor once you get past the thought of him and Angelina Jolie once upon a time carrying each other’s blood on vials. It’s the story of a farmer who’s building a space rocket in his barn.

Can you tell that it’s summer?

Published in: on July 25, 2007 at 10:01 am  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://greymom.wordpress.com/2007/07/25/movies-we-recently-watched/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. you are tagged!

  2. Thanks Hailey. Will work on it. πŸ˜‰

  3. I *love* Jen Garner and her daughter Violet! They make such a beautiful pair, don’t you think? I’ll try to catch that movie one of these days. I used to watch Alias but haven’t seen many of her movies.

    Wasn’t too impressed with Bridge to Terabithia and Miss Potter either. But Babe is a classic – it’s one of my favorite movies πŸ™‚

  4. Hi GreyMom… Yeah, I saw your link at Liz’s blog. Interesting home you’ve made here. I guess one of the advantages with not revealing your true identity is that you can blog about really personal thoughts (and complaints). Am I right? Have a nice day! PS Thanks din for visiting my site =)

  5. We haven’t been watching DVDs except my daughter. She can watch Sound of Music over and over.

  6. @Christianne: Same here. Jennifer Garner and daughter Violet are too adorable for words! DO watch 13 going on 30 too. You’ll love it!

    @Kristine: True, for me, I like it better that my true identity isn’t known. At least you don’t feel pre-judged, di ba?

    @Tina: The hills are alive with the sound of music pala in your household ha? LOL πŸ˜€

  7. Babe is one of my favorite movies of all time!! I’ve been using the line on my kids..”That’ll do pig, that’ll do.” Hehehe.

    BTW, you’ve been tagged πŸ™‚

  8. I love the movie Babe. I even cried first time I watched it. πŸ™‚

    I haven’t seen Catch and Release yet. Thanks for the review. I’ll check it out.

  9. @Cookie: Me too!!! It’s one of my favorites and I’ve used that line on my kids , only I say “that’ll do, donkey” ’cause they can identify with Shrek better. πŸ˜€

    @Rach: Babe is such a great movie huh? It’s a comedy with heart and I think I did cry too when I watched it. I’m such a crybaby!


Leave a Reply

