10 Random Facts About my Mom

Mitch tagged me for this and found out in the process that our Moms have some things in common.

Here are some random facts about my Mom:

1. She was the first, at age 19, to get married in her family, making me the oldest among the apos (Grandchild) and pamangkins (nieces/nephews). She had me when she was 20.
2. She was a former stage actress. She belonged to a prominent stage actors association and would have continued with a career in Theater Arts had she not met my Dad.
3. She has great fashion sense. She taught us at an early age what and what not to wear.
4. She’s a great writer and have been writing other people’s speeches for them. I have yet to encourage her to blog though.
5. She’s feisty and a survivor. During times when she had to make ends meet, never once did we feel deprived of anything.
6. I learned my bargaining skills from her. Being the eldest, she’ll take me everywhere she shops – the supermarket, Divisoria, Baclaran, etc. I watched and learned as she haggled her way to sealing the deal.
7. She was the one who taught me to smoke-for a stage play I was doing. My castmates were in awe!
8. Among my circle of friends, she’s the cool Mom – the one everyone calls “Mommy”.
9. She’s psychic, or so she claims. Hey, she’s my Mom. I won’t argue with her. 😉
10. She’s talkative. Sometimes to a fault. She volunteers too much information even to strangers, which sometimes embarasses me. But she means well.

And even though our relationship isn’t perfect, we were close. Sure we argued and we yelled and we had our differences but at the end of the day we turn to each other for comfort and love. We still are close and I can tell her pretty much anything. She’s a good Lola (grandmother) to my sons and a good MIL to DH.

I am now tagging Scrooch, Christianne, Belle, Feng, FeistyMomma, Rachel,  and Tina .

Published in: on July 22, 2007 at 8:50 pm  Comments (19)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://greymom.wordpress.com/2007/07/22/10-random-facts-about-my-mom/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

19 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi GreyMom!! Hey, type ko si GreyLola!! She is “coolness” personified. Thanks for the tag. Naku, mabubuking nanay ko 🙂

  2. “She was the first, at age 19, to get married in her family”

    ey, ang bata pa nag-asawa ng Mommy mo. oh well, nung araw naman kasi, uso yata to marry at such a young age. 🙂

    thanks for the tag. me will surely play along..

  3. @Kong: LOL. shhh, wag kang maingay, ‘di alam ng nanay ko ‘to.

    @Feng: Onga, bata pa talaga syang nag asawa. Which I am happy about din naman because that made us closer-the proximity in age. Thanks! Looking forward to reading your post.

  4. Oh my, I’ve been tagged pala. Sorry just learned about it now by chance. 🙂 Thanks Mary. I like this meme and I look forward to doing it soon. I’ll let you know when I’m done.

    This is a wonderful tribute to your mom. It must be cool to have a young mom because she could easily relate to you while you were growing up. My friend had a young mom as well and they were like “barkada”.

    I think it’s great that your mom taught you many valuable things while you were growing up. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Thanks Greymom for doin it!

    Another thing in common, my friends and work colleagues call my mom “mommy” too!

    Hmmmm….

  6. @Rachel: Thanks! Looking forward to reading your post.

    @Mitch: yet another thing to add to the list huh? 😉

  7. Hi Mary,
    Thanks for tagging me. It’s weird we were both doing the same post the same time.

  8. Tina,
    It is indeed weird that we were both posting at the same time!

  9. Thanks for the tag! Tamang tama, I was looking for something to write about 🙂

  10. @Christianne: will be looking forward to your post. This is fun! At least we get a chance to talk about our Moms behind their backs. 😀 Kidding!

  11. Hi Mary. I just posted mine. Thanks again for the tag.

  12. […] GreyMom tagged me for the 10 Random Facts About my Mom here; […]

  13. greymom hello there. whew, finished the tag na po!

  14. Thanks Rach and Feng! Checking out your posts right now.

  15. Hi Mary, you have such a wonderful mom.

  16. Thanks Rowena. I think so too! 😉

  17. […] by Belle on 05 Aug 2007 at 02:10 pm | Tagged as: family, Phillipines I have been tagged by Greymom for 10 random facts about my mom. Unfortunately though, she joined the creator about a year ago, a […]

  18. Thanks for doing the tag, Belle!

  19. Finally did this! 😉


Leave a Reply

