Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

harrypotter.jpg
image credits

DH surprised us yesterday. He called me before he went home and told me that we were going to watch a movie. I didn’t know that Harry Potter was out yesterday so I thought we were going to watch Transformers instead. He told me not to tell the boys as it was going to be a surprise. So I played along. I told the boys to get dressed because we were going grocery shopping when Dad gets home. They complied. Then I secretly stashed my backpack with some chips, ginger ale and Gatorade. And then we got to the movie theatre. DH and I were telling them we were going to watch a love story. 10 (almost 11) year old: “Aaargh! I don’t want to watch a love story!” DH: “well, we have no choice, we couldn’t leave you at home”. So it went until we got inside the movie theater and DH was printing the tickets he paid for online. I looked at the billboard and saw, gasp! Harry Potter. “What? It’s Harry Potter! It’s showing!” But DH didn’t mind me. As we were walking to the cinema, I wanted to tell DH, can you exchange the tickets? let’s go to Harry instead of Transformers! Until I saw DH smug and collected. That’s when I knew – he tricked us! We were going to watch Harry Potter all along!

We went inside the theater, and found good seats. We went in at 4:30, show starts at 4:45. Why the last Harry Potter we went to, we had to elbow our way into finding 4 seats! Where was the crowd? Has the audience lost their interest in Harry? Well, I found out the answer soon after the movie. There was a long line outside for people trying to get in on the next showing, Turns out we came just right on time! Score for DH!

So did we like the movie? DH liked it, C gave it a 5 out of 5 stars and G said it was the best movie ever. It was alright for me. The effects were good and the actors were consistent. Harry delivered with typical teenage angst. I hated the Dolores Umbridge character, sympathized with Harry and loved the Hermione-Ron dynamic. Younger kids might not like it due to some dark, sinister plotlines but for adults and kids 9 and older, I think they’ll like it. The movie seemed shorter too. Turns out they did shorten it up due to some concerns of losing the audience’s interest. For me, as long as the kids liked it, I’m fine.

Note: we watched the movie on opening night but only got to write about it now. Weekend visitors, ’nuff said.

Published in: on July 17, 2007 at 12:51 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://greymom.wordpress.com/2007/07/17/harry-potter-and-the-order-of-the-phoenix/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Buti ka pa nanood ka na. We’ve been so busy on the weekends that we haven’t had the time to see any of the latest movies yet 😦

    Dear, wrong spelling yun link ko sa blogroll mo…hehehe 🙂

    nye! sorry po. my bad!

  2. Julian wanted to watch HP5 even before it opened but we haven’t been able to watch yet. He just busies himself watching the old HP dvds at night, playing some favorite scenes over and over and over…

    Glad you were able to have some fun. 🙂

    LOL @ watching it over and over and over. Sounds familiar 😀

  3. Btw, have you read the HP series? I did except for Deathly Hallows so I look forward to these HP movies even if to me, the books are livelier, more colorful and more detailed, 🙂

    I found that I get disappointed when I read the book before watching the movie. While I know that some events are ommitted and some are added for cinematic purposes, I still feel cheated. LOL I do have all the books except for the new one. I did not pre-order. Will wait when it goes on sale. 😉


Leave a Reply

