Spring

smpimg20.jpgThe days are getting warmer and spring is in the air. Judging from the hordes of people in the gardening aisles of the stores and the easter decorations at CVS drugstores, spring is slowly creeping in. Of course we can feel it way before spring starts. Older son C will be sneezing, his eyes will be watery and he’s forever sniffling, DH starts sneezing too and me? I just had the most excruciating headache yesterday. Yup, spring allergies are here!
I hate spring for this reason. Even though it looks nice and pretty outside – flowers blooming, the trees green and leafy, birds are out singing, squirrels chasing each other and people out for a walk with their dogs (people without spring allergies, that is), do not be fooled. Because underneath the pretty flowers and green leafy trees are pollen, looking innocent but bursting with all the allergens in the world! During the spring season, we almost always stay indoors most of the time. The sneezing, itchy watery eyes isn’t worth the nice view and warmer weather. The only survivor in our family is G, my youngest son. He’s the only one without the spring allergies.
The thing is, we didn’t really have spring allergies before. We just developed it. The first one was C. We noticed it when he would be sneezing and one day he had bags under his eyes so big, you’d think somebody punched him (except it wasn’t black/blue). Then the sniffles came and the sneezing. He had to be medicated after that episode and sure enough, it never fails, it was the preview of things to come as he had the allergies from then on. DH followed suit with the sneezing too and the year after that, it was me.
The thing I hate about spring allergies is that my eyes are too itchy and watery I cannot even put on eyeliner (how vain!LOL). And without eyeliner I look like I just woke up with slits for eyes and puffy bags under my eyes. So during the spring, expect me to look sleepy all the time. People are already confused as it is as to my ethnicity. Some think I’m Chinese, Japanese, Vietnamese, Korean, or Spanish. Just a few would guess my real ethnicity.
Anyways, spring is here and allergies are back. And I hate it! Today it looks like it’s going to rain and it will be a relief if the water washes away the pollen, flushed away in the sea so that we’ll have relief. Even for a day or too.

Please don’t get me wrong. I love how it looks like out there-all the beautiful colors and the buds coming out signaling the beginning of a new life but what is the use if some people cannot enjoy it due to the allergies? I guess the best way is for us allergic people to just stay in the safe confines of our home as the rest of the world goes on.

Published in: on April 26, 2007 at 3:37 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://greymom.wordpress.com/2007/04/26/spring/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

