The Grass is Always Greener

smpimg41.jpgWhoever thought about this is right on. In this case though, I am talking literally about grass. Dh has been so obssessed with our front lawn for a long time now. He tried fertilizers, grass seeds, he even bought those spiky sandals that’s supposed to loosen up the soil. “Too compacted”, DH said to me one day. “That’s why I need to loosen it up before I spread grass seeds again”. I nod in agreement but the truth is, I don’t care that much. Sure it’s nice to look at green green grass but it doesn’t bother me much if there are dry patches or if the grass looks more yellowish or brownish. We do have some nice wildflowers at the backyard and peonies and a vegetable garden. Oh, and we do have roses too. So what’s the fuss?
Don’t get me wrong, I love plants. I grew with plants. My maternal grandfather was a nutrionist/environmentalist. He would get up at the crack of dawn and tend to his plants. Armed with garden shears and a hose, he looked like a warrior ready for battle. My Mom too made sure we have greenery inside the house. And by greenery, I mean the real thing. She had a rotation system for houseplants that will be inside for a number of days and another set to bask in the sun.
Back to DH. “I wonder what Steve (our neighbor) puts in his grass?”, he mutters. “Same thing as you are”, I replied. “well then why does his grass look lush and green and ours looks… pathetic?” I shrugged. He walks away, muttering to himself. Trying to ponder the mystery of the greener grass on the other side.

Published in: on April 20, 2007 at 6:46 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://greymom.wordpress.com/2007/04/20/the-grass-is-always-greener/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ve decided the grass only LOOKS greener on the other side. When looking at a yard from across the street, it often looks lush; however, if you walk over and stand in the middle of it, there probably are some dry patches. Of course, there are those people with perfect lawns, like one of my neighbors. He spends far more time working on it than I would ever care to, but that’s why his lawn is all one shade of perfect green and mine has that great multi-tonal quality.

  2. You’ve got a point there, Sherrileigh. Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

