Wisdom from an Advice Column

You heard it right, I derive wisdom from a  lot of things as I am a voracious reader. Today it is from an advice column. It is from the Washington Post’s magazine. The column is called “Ask Marilyn”.

Why is it impossible for people – even the very bright – to not make mistakes? Joy T. from Sioux Falls, S.D.

When we are born, we know virtually nothing. To learn anything, we must explore new territory. So, unless we behave like passive receivers of information (like a computer being programmed) or have perfect luck and guess right every time, we will make mistakes. This activity expands when we go to school and retracts when we leave, in the absence of motivation or encouragement.

But in some people, especially those who are inquisitive and bright, the process continues throughout life. They never stop learning- and making mistakes. Others try to avoid error by staying in familiar territory. But life is short, and the world of learning so vast, that I feel safe in stating that if you do not make mistakes, you don’t know much.

This makes me feel much better especially when I make mistakes. I feel that life is not so hard after all, knowing that there will always be people who are making mistakes as I have. Life is full of hard choices and sometimes when we make choices we don’t know if it’s going to be the right or wrong choice. Hence mistakes might be made and it will always be a part of our lives.

I have this on my refrigerator door and the paper has yellowed with age (I cut out the date so I don’t know exactly when this was published). I think I might have had it for about 2 years now. It’s a good reminder for me whenever I feel really bad about a mistake I made.

Published in: on March 1, 2007 at 2:41 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://greymom.wordpress.com/2007/03/01/wisdom-from-an-advice-column/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

