Accidents Happen

It was a nice night, breezy and warm. My kids and I were getting home from their religion class and I slammed the car door shut. Imagine my surprise when I was about to walk away from the car and saw that my right index finger was stuck! I did not feel the pain then. It was more of a shock to me than anything else. I had to fumble with my keys and tried to unlock the door with my left hand. Only then, after my finger was released from the door did I feel the pain. I had to run inside with my kids trailing behind. As soon as hubby saw me – his first words were: “what have you done?” talk about support!
As soon as I got inside the house and he looked at it, the first thing that came to me is that I hope it’s not fractured nor did I lose my finger. I was bawling in pain and almost passed out right there and then. I LITERALLY SAW STARS!!!! Never thought it’s possible, right? I thought it was something you only see in cartoons but no!!! I can attest to the fact that it is indeed true,there is such a thing as literally seeing stars!
Anyways, A trip to urgent care (didn’t want to waste 4 hrs waiting in the ER) and 2 more hours for xray, my finger’s intact and there is no fracture. I had to have my finger splinted for 2 weeks though and I can’t get it wet. It is horribly mashed and it is so bruised and black and blue all over I don’t know if it will be back to normal again.
I told the xray technician how incredibly stupid I feel and she assured me it happens a lot. Most people who saw me and asked about it can only nod and sympathize and tell me stories about people who had the same accident I had. Hey, what do you know? I’m not special after all. LOL
Lesson learned from this: don’t ever be in a hurry no matter what. Keep your fingers clear of the door and be cheerful throughout the whole ordeal.
The best part? I haven’t cooked or washed the dishes the whole time. 🙂

Published in: on November 3, 2006 at 10:08 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://greymom.wordpress.com/2006/11/03/accidents-happen/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

